PAC-12 CONFERENCE



1350 Treat Blvd., Suite 500, Walnut Creek, CA 94597

// PAC-12.ORG

// 92

925.932.4411

For Immediate Release // Wednesday, May 30, 2012 Contact // Sarah Kezele (<u>skezele@pac-12.org</u>)

### PAC-12 BASEBALL ALL-CONFERENCE HONORS ARIZONA'S ALEX MEJIA NAMED PLAYER OF THE YEAR OREGON'S ALEX KEUDELL NAMED PITCHER OF THE YEAR ARIZONA'S ALEX MEJIA NAMED DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR OREGON STATE'S MICHAEL CONFORTO NAMED FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR ARIZONA'S ANDY LOPEZ NAMED COACH OF THE YEAR

**WALNUT CREEK, Calif.** - In a vote by the Conference coaches, ARIZONA junior shortstop **Alex Mejia** has been named the 2012 Pac-12 Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year, while OREGON senior right-handed pitcher **Alex Keudell** has earned Pitcher of the Year honors. OREGON STATE freshman outfielder **Michael Conforto** has been voted Freshman of the Year, and Arizona's **Andy Lopez** has been named Coach of the Year, Commissioner Larry Scott announced Wednesday.

### Pac-12 Player of the Year -- Alex Mejia, ARIZONA

Mejia is the sixth Wildcat all-time to be awarded Pac-12 Player of the Year, following South Division winners Terry Francona (1980), Chip Hale (shared in 1987), and Scott Erickson and Alan Zinter (shared with each other in 1989); and Trevor Crowe, who shared the honor in 2005. From Sylmar, Calif., Mejia boasts a .357 batting average, good enough for third on the team and fifth in the Conference. The junior shortstop leads Arizona and the Pac-12 in hits with 81.

# Pac-12 Pitcher of the Year -- Alex Keudell, OREGON

Keudell is the first-ever Oregon Duck to win Pac-12 Pitcher of the Year. The Portland, Ore., native set a school record for single-season wins after finishing the regular season with a 10-4 record. His 2.12 ERA leads the Oregon pitching staff and is the third-lowest among Pac-12 starting pitchers. The senior righty won two Pac-12 Pitcher of the Week awards this season and is a Golden Spikes Award semifinalist. Keudell, Oregon's Friday-night starter, has elevated the Ducks to national rankings as high as No. 5 by *Baseball America* and No. 1 by *Collegiate Baseball* this season, and leads the team into the postseason as the No. 5 overall seed.

# Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year -- Alex Mejia, ARIZONA

Mejia is the first-ever Wildcat to receive Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year honors. He started all 55 games this season, posting a .953 fielding percentage and a team-leading 169 assists, ranking him seventh in the Conference in that category.

# Pac-12 Freshman of the Year -- Michael Conforto, OREGON STATE

Conforto is the second Beaver all-time to to be awarded Freshman of the Year, with Darwin Barney

receiving the honor in 2005. The outfielder from Woodinville, Wash., leads the Pac-12 in RBI (71) and slugging percentage (.603), and is tied for first in home runs (13). His .343 batting average ranks second on his team and 11th in the Conference. Conforto also has collected 123 total bases, the second-best sum in the league.

#### Pac-12 Coach of the Year -- Andy Lopez, ARIZONA

Lopez is the second Arizona skipper to win Coach of the Year, succeeding Jerry Kindall, who shared the South Division award in 1980 and 1992, and won outright in 1989. Picked to finish second in the Conference, the Wildcats finished as Pac-12 Co-Champions, securing the program's first league championship since 1992. Arizona was ranked as high as fourth in the country by *Baseball America* this season and never fell out of the top 15. The 'Cats will make their eighth postseason appearance in the last 10 years under Lopez, hosting a regional for the first time since 1992.

#### ALL-CONFERENCE TEAM

Position	Year	School
OF	Jr.	UCLA
RHP	Jr.	Stanford
1B	RS Jr.	Washington State
RHP	Fr.	UCLA
DH	Sr.	Arizona
OF	Fr.	Oregon State
2B	Jr.	Arizona State
OF	So.	Arizona
OF	Jr.	UCLA
RHP	Jr.	UCLA
С	Jr.	UCLA
RHP	Jr.	Arizona
OF	Sr.	Washington State
RHP	Sr.	Oregon
SS	Jr.	Arizona State
SS	Jr.	Arizona
3B	Jr.	Arizona
3B	Jr.	Stanford
RHP	So.	UCLA
OF	Jr.	Arizona
2B	Jr.	California
RHP	Jr.	Arizona State
RHP	So.	Oregon
SS	Jr.	Oregon State
RHP	So.	Arizona State
	OF RHP 1B RHP DH OF 2B OF OF RHP C RHP OF RHP SS SS 3B 3B RHP OF 2B RHP OF 2B RHP SS	OF       Jr.         RHP       Jr.         1B       RS Jr.         RHP       Fr.         DH       Sr.         OF       Fr.         2B       Jr.         OF       So.         OF       Jr.         RHP       Jr.         OF       Jr.         RHP       Jr.         OF       Sr.         RHP       Sr.         SS       Jr.         3B       Jr.         3B       Jr.         2B       Jr.         RHP       Jr.         2B       Jr.         RHP       So.         SS       Jr.         SS       Jr.         RHP       So.         SS       Jr.         RHP       So.         SS       Jr.

(1) - Two-time All-Conference selection

(2) - Three-time All-Conference selection

**Honorable Mention:** Chase Anselment (WASH, Jr., DH); Andrew Aplin (ASU, Jr., OF); Jake Barrett (ASU, Jr., RHP); James Brooks (UTAH, Sr., SS); Ryan Deeter (UCLA, RS So., RHP); Mitch Delfino (CAL, Jr., 1B); Matt Flemer (CAL, Sr., RHP); Josh Fredendall (WASH, Jr., RHP); Jace Fry (OSU, Jr., LHP); Ryon

Page 3 Healy (ORE, So., 1B); Aaron Jones (ORE, So., OF); Jacob Lamb (WASH, Jr., 3B); Parker Morin (UTAH, Jr., C); Brian Ragira (STAN, So., 1B); Jayce Ray (WASH, Jr., OF); Joey Rickard (ARIZ, Jr., OF); Abe Ruiz (ASU, Sr., 1B); Austin Wilson (STAN, So., OF).

- www.pac-12.org -